As a Raft Leader, Co-leader, or Curator, you have access to additional settings that regular members don't. You can access these by selecting the Settings (gear) icon on the Raft header (top right). On the iOS and Android apps, this will open a new screen. On the web platform, it will open a menu on the right side of your browser. The exact settings and order depend on your rank, platform, and whether the Raft is Basic or Premium (see below for details). Channels also have many of the same settings, with the main exceptions being settings related to Posts or Channel management.
Look and Feel
This section has the high-level settings related to the Raft's name and appearance. This section is not visible to Curators, only to Leaders and Co-leaders.
- Name – Edit what your Raft is called. 25 character limit. Only Leaders can see and edit.
- Tagline – Short Raft description. 50 character limit. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit
- Raft Icon – Image used to brand a Raft. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
- Raft Cover – Additional Raft header image or video. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
Update your Raft's information and discovery features in this section, which is not visible to Curators, only Leaders and Co-leaders.
- Description – An optional paragraph to describe the Raft and let people know what it's about. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
- Welcome Message – An optional message that is displayed to new members of the Raft when they join. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
- Rules – An optional list of guidelines you want your Raft members to follow. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
Also located under the General section of your Raft’s Settings (gear) menu, this information about your Raft is used in Search, filters, and other discovery tools throughout the platform. This section is not visible to Curators, only to Leaders and Co-leaders.
- Topic – A required field connecting your Raft to one of your community's topics. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
- Location – An optional field if your Raft is related to a specific location. Only Leaders and Co-leaders can edit.
These settings allow you to control what content types are allowed on your Raft (and who can post them). They are not visible to Curators or on Basic Rafts.
- Events – Decide who can create Events, and easily delete all Events from that Raft (for example, during a community re-launch).
- Allowed – When selected, any Raft member can create an Event
- Only allowed by admin – When selected, only Raft Admins can create an Event
- Not allowed – When selected, no one can create Events
- Delete All Events – Deletes all existing Events on that Raft
- Posts – Decide who can create Posts, and easily delete all Posts from that Raft (for example, during a community re-launch).
- Allowed – When selected, any Raft member can create a Post
- Only allowed by admin – When selected, only Raft Admins can create a Post
- Not allowed – When selected, no one can create Posts
- Delete All Posts– Deletes all existing Post on that Raft
- Cross-Posts – Decide who can cross-post content to a Raft, and easily delete all Cross-Posts from that Raft (for example, during a community re-launch).
- Allowed – When selected, any Raft member can cross-post to the Raft
- Only allowed by admin – When selected, only Raft Admins can cross-post content to the Raft
- Not allowed – When selected, no one can cross-post content to the Raft
- Delete All Cross-Posted Content– Deletes all existing cross-posted content
- Chat & Channels – Manage your settings related to messaging in Raft Chat (Basic and Premium Rafts) or on additional Raft Channels (Premium Rafts only).
- Create New – Creates a new Channel. Hidden if Channel creation is disabled.
- Raft Chat Settings – Toggle on Chat to enable messaging and display the Chat tab on your Raft. Toggle off Chat to disable messaging and hide the Chat tab on your Raft. Only visible for Leaders and Co-leaders. (NOTE: This only applies to the Raft Chat. It will not disable other Raft Channels.)
- Chat Channels/Settings – Choose whether Raft Admin can create Channels. Only visible for Leaders and Co-leaders. (NOTE: Disabling Channel creation will not disable the main Raft Chat.)
- Channels you manage – A list of Channels on that Raft where you are a Leader or Co-leader. Not visible unless you are a Channel Admin. Includes the main Raft Chat if you are a Raft Admin.
Update who can see the content, members, and details about your Raft. Not visible to Curators.
- Public – Anyone can join and all Posts and Events are visible to the full community, regardless of whether they are a member of the Raft
- Private – Membership and visibility options are managed by the Raft Admin
- Membership Approach – Determines how members can join the Raft
- Invite Only – Only Raft Leaders and Co-leaders can invite members
- By Request – Members can request to join, but must be approved by a Raft Leader or Co-leader
- Content Access Rights – Determines who can see Chat Channel messages and Posts on the Raft
- Open – Like a public Raft, content is visible to everyone, but you must be a member of the Raft to interact or create content
- Closed – Non-members will only be able to see Channel names. All Posts and Chat Channel messages will be limited to members.
- Membership List – Determines who can view the members of the Raft
- Hidden – Only members can see who else is joined to the Raft
- Visible – Raft membership list is visible to everyone
- Membership Approach – Determines how members can join the Raft
- Secret – The most restrictive privacy option. The Raft is hidden from Search and all community members unless a user is invited by a Raft Admin. (Note that Secret Raft names and members are visible in the Admin Portal.) Learn more about Secret Raft visibility here.
Visible to all Raft Admins, these settings allow you to invite, promote, remove, or ban members from your Raft. It includes the following sections:
- Members List
- Join Requests
- Member Management
- Auto-Join members (toggle)
- Members can leave (toggle)
Flagged Posts & Flagged Messages
Monitor Posts and messages that have been flagged by members of your community. Not visible to Curators or on the iOS or Android apps. Learn more about content moderation here.
Use this toggle to temporarily prevent all members from viewing or creating content on the Raft. Not visible to Curators.
Transfer Leader Role
As a Raft leader, this allows you to transfer your leadership role to another member of the community.