Raftr is designed to be a highly customizable experience that reflects your specific interests and involvement within your community. There are several tools available to customize the Raftr experience for community members.
Guide to Raft Membership
The Rafts you join will directly determine the content displayed for you in Raftr. For instance, by joining a private Raft, you will see Events specific to that group in your Events feed, Posts specific to that group in your Posts feed, and chat messages in that Raft or Channel subgroup on the home page. Someone who has not joined the Raft will not see that content.
Upon joining a community, you will see a list of Rafts available to join. You may also be invited to certain Rafts by friends or Admins. If you're still looking for additional groups to join, you can search for Rafts based on your interests, explore Rafts that have been highlighted on the Community Hub, or create your own.
Filter Your Feeds
Your main feeds in Raftr come with filters you can use to further customize what you see on the platform. Topic filters appear on the Events feed, Posts feed, and individual Raft feeds, all of which allow you to filter your view to only show content tagged with specific Topics. Topics are customizable for each community and provide a quick, simple way for a more narrow view of what’s happening at your institution. You can also filter Events by date, location, and whether they're trending in your community.
On the Home page, you can filter your chat messages to only display Chat Channels, Direct Messages (DMs), or Groups you manage.
Access Your Private Calendar
You can create a private calendar simply by tapping or clicking the Interested button on Events you want to attend. This will add the Event to your Schedule on your profile and let you filter your Events feeds more specifically.
Bookmark Posts and Messages
You can easily reference important Posts and chat messages by using the Bookmark function. To bookmark a post or message, simply select the More menu (...) button next to the Post or inline with the message and tap or click Bookmark. A small bookmark icon will appear on the Post or message, indicating it has been bookmarked. To view bookmarked Posts, use the Bookmarked filter on any Posts feed. To view bookmarked chat messages, select the Info ( i ) button and then select View Bookmarked Messages. A bookmark can be removed at any time by selecting the bookmark icon again on the bookmarked content.
Notifications and Muting
You can mute any Raft, Channel, or DM by selecting the Info ( i ) button and going to your Notification Preferences. For Rafts, you will have the ability to mute messages, Posts, or both. Muting will reduce the number of notifications you receive, but content from those groups will still appear on your Home page and in your feeds. Learn more about managing your notifications here.
If there's someone that you want to hide from your feeds entirely, you can block them by going to the More menu (...) on their profile. Don't worry, we don't share with this user that they've been blocked. Once you block someone, the Posts that they create will no longer show up in your feeds or on your Home page. Keep in mind that if you block someone, their messages will still appear in Channels you are a member of. Learn about additional safety features within Raftr here.